Rocco Dispirito Low Cal Cheese Sauce on Rachael Ray

One of the things that helped me finally cook some things that tasted good in a short amount of time was mastering a few sauces.  If you can make a few sauces then you can put a meal together really quickly and you can be sure that it will taste good.  Below is a recipe I saw today on Racheal Day that was done by Rocco Dispirito.   I have not tried it yet, but plan to.  If you do, please leave me a comment below and let me know how it goes!

I have also found that a couple great resources for making sauces and here they are: 

How to make delicious tasting sauces for everyday eating as easy as 1, 2, 3 – This has over 101 delicious easy-too use sauce recipes that I found very helpful as I was just beginning to cook.

Serve Rocco Dispirito’s low cal cheese sauce with vegetables, meat or chicken.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup shredded sharp provolone
  • 1 cup evaporated skim milk 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Yields: Makes about 1 cup of cheese sauce

Preparation

In a small bowl, whisk the evaporated milk into the cornstarch. Pour the mixture into a small sauce pot and turn the heat on high.

Bring the milk mixture to a boil, whisking constantly. Reduce the heat to low and continue to cook the sauce until it is thickened, for about 1 more minute.

Whisk the provolone into the sauce until it is melted and season the cheese sauce with salt and pepper.

This recipe is from the RachelRayShow.com site.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment