Belly Fat Cure Recipe Chicken Enchiladas with creamy green chili sauce (4/1)

This is one of my favorite Belly Fat Cure recipes that I’ve created.  The use of store bought roasted chicken makes it a fast, easy recipe.  The enchilada sauce is so good, that I’ve also made other types of enchiladas with the same sauce. 

This is a BFC recipe that you can make as spicy as you like based on how hot and how many of the chilis you use.  I like it hot, so I use hot ones and more than the recipe calls for.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Tortillas – I use Xtreme Wellness tortillas with 5 carbs and 0 sugars each.  They are awesome.  I get them at Walmart.  I’m not sure how they only have 5 carbs because they also have 12 g fiber, but they are great tasting.
  • 1  roasted chicken from your grocery’s deli (there will be plenty left over to make this a few times).  0g sugar, 0g carbs
  • 1/2 cup of Mexican Four Cheese Blend (or Monterey Jack or whatever you like). 2g carb, 0g sugar
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion (a 6-7 ounce whole onion is about 9 carbs and 4 sugars).  The key is to measure your onion since onions have a signicificant amount of sugar.
  • 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon butter. 0g carbs, 0g sugar
  • 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon soy flour or whatever low sugar flour you can find. Soy has 3.5g carbs, 1.5g sugar
  • 2/3 cup chicken or vegetable broth. 0g carbs, 0g sugar
  • 1/3 cup sour cream. 1.3g carbs, 1.3g sugar (You may be able to find a brand with 0 sugar.)
  • 4 oz can of green chiles or 4 oz of fresh green chilis. I almost always have some hot hatch green chilis on hand, but you can get mild ones and you can get them in a can. 6g carbs, 0g sugars
  • fresh cilantro to garnish if you like

That is a total of 31.8g carbs and 6.8g sugar for 2 people.  So each serving is 15.9g carbs and 3.4g sugar.  To make sure I can’t eat 2 of these, I stuff them with chicken.

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F
2. Chop the 1/2 cup onion.  If you don’t like crunchy onions, then saute them.  If you like cruncy don’t.  When I saute them I just use a little water to keep the fat content down.
3. Take enough chicken off your store bought roast chicken to stuff 2 medium sized tortillas.
4. Divide the chicken, most of the cheese (save some cheese to put on top) and onion between the 2 tortillas.  Roll up the tortilla.  When I do this, because I like them full, there is not a lot of overlap. 
5. Put the tortilla, seam side down in a greased pan.  (Just spray the pan with a nonstick spray or  I use an oil spritzer.)
6. Make the enchilada sauce (best part of recipe!):  melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat.  Add the flour and whisk until mixture begins to boil.  Slowly add broth, stirring with a whisk until thickened.  Mix in the sour crean and chiles, continue stirring, heat thoroughly but do not boil.  Pour mixture over the enchiladas.
7. Top with remaining cheese, bake for 20 minutes or until heated through. 
8. Garnish with cilantro if you like it (I don’t) and serve with a Mich2lob Ultra.  Yum and only 2.6g carbs, 0g sugar.

So that’s a Belly Fat Cure recipe with 4 sugars (rounding up) and 1 carb unit or a 4/1 per serving.  The tortillas I use are medium sized and I put quite a bit of chicken in each one.  Sometimes I can only eat half.

I’m making this tonight for a party so I will be making 3X this recipe to fill a whole 9×13 glass baking dish (I love this pan) with six of them.  I’m also going to alternate between the wheat tortilla and a tomato basil tortilla (also by Xtreame Wellness) to give it a nice look. 

Let me know what you think!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

