Easy Homemade Organic Dark Chocolate Recipe| Gluten Free Soy Free Corn Free Sugar Free

I recently found out that I’m sensitive to gluten, soy and corn.  Corn is in everything!  I also try to limit my sugar intake.  As I’ve been looking more and more at labels I’ve noticed things in chocolate that I don’t really want to ingest.  So I started an experiment to see if I could make great tasting chocolate without much effort and that would be gluten free, soy free, corn free and maybe even sugar free.

This dark chocolate recipe is organic and very easy to make.  It is also low carb and Paleo Diet approved.  It’s a great low calorie substitution for dark chocolate.

INGREDIANTS:

For sweeteners, here are some options:

  • 6 packets of Stevia (this is my favorite)
  • Liquid Stevia
  • Organic honey
  • Organic maple syrup

TIP:  Don’t use granulated sugars, they don’t dissolve and so your sugar does not get mixed in.  The liquid sweeteners seem to dissolve and get dispersed the best.  Because I use packets of Stevia, I just make sure that I stir often during pouring process.

Microwave the coconut oil for about 30 secs, a little more if not completely melted.  Once it’s all melted add the cocoa powder, sweetener, instant coffee and vanilla.

TIP:  Taste it at this point to see if your sweetness is where you want it.

Stir well and pour into mold — stir during pouring process.  OPTION:  Grind some sea salt over the chocolate.chocolate-mold

Store the molds in fridge for 15 minutes or more until the chocolate is hardened.

I love these great chocolate molds.

Remove your yummy dark chocolates from the molds by pushing from the back of the mold.

TIP:  If you don’t have the molds you can use ice cube trays or just pour into any container and break the chocolate into pieces after it sets.

Store your chocolate in a container or bag in the FRIDGE.  Because this is made with coconut oil it will start to melt at room temperature.

TIP:  When I take this to parties or potlucks I put ice in one container and then nest the second one with the chocolates in it on top of the ice so that they stay cool and don’t melt.

OPTIONS:

  • Add your favorite nut to the mold before pouring the chocolate in.  I like almonds, but you can use walnuts, hazelnuts, peanuts, cashews or anything you like.
  • Add a dried fruit into the mold before pouring the chocolate in.  Dried cherries, or anything you like.
  • Try using flavored liquid Stevia’s.
  • Use extracts* other than vanilla.

* If you’re allergic to corn, be careful with the extract you choose.  Some are derived from corn.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment